The One About Utah

27 Jun

If someone had told me a month ago that I would be moving to Utah, I would have laughed in their face.

My only experiences in Utah have been that of two different ski trips to Brian Head, where there wasn’t a whole lot of…shall we say…civilization. There were maybe three different businesses, all lined up in a row, and then there were the ski lifts. Even though I consider myself both an introvert and an outdoorsy person, the thought of living atop a mountain amidst maybe five other families sounds unfathomable to someone accustomed to living in a city of 3 million people. Let’s just say I was relieved to discover the rest of Utah is not so isolated…

In fact, it appears to be a huge, diverse place filled with people, restaurants, shopping, and oh, maybe one or two or five million temples sprinkled throughout:

And of course, how can I forget the MOUNTAINS?

I could not believe how gorgeous the mountains are! Especially since they are still snow-capped and visible from everywhere you go. I can only imagine how beautiful it will be when there is even more snow (and I have been thoroughly warned: there will be more snow!). I can’t wait!

Another thing that (happily) took my mom and I by surprise was how genuinely nice everyone was! I did not encounter a single unfriendly person the whole time – heck, the TSA agent at the airport whose job it is to make sure we are not concealing any weapons, was shooting the breeze with us like we were old friends! He wanted to know how we were doing, how we enjoyed our time in Utah, wishing us a safe journey, and reassuring my mom that she won’t miss me too much while I’m 500 miles away. He also gave us his life story in the 2 minutes it took to go through security. You just don’t meet people like this at every available turn in California! Definitely a perk!

On Thursday night after we arrived at our hotel, my mom and I went over the grocery store to get some snacks. We were blown away by the amount of candy they sold! It was like Sweet Factory had set up shop between the produce section and the butcher – there was just candy everywhere! Of course, there’s plenty of candy in California, but not to this extent!

Even though I will totally miss my hometown, my family and friends, Disneyland, and…

random celebrity sightings, such as Tony Parker strolling through LAX with his assistant/luggage holder in tow, I am SO excited to start this new chapter in my life!

Join me, won’t you?

4 Responses to “The One About Utah”

  1. Crickit June 27, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Ann-Marie-

    I am so excited for you! You have always been independent, fun loving and creative…. yes so creative. I wish you the BEST as you start this new job, a job in which you get to Create… and this new venture in your life! Keep reaching…

    Blessings,
    Crickit

  2. Becky Olsen June 27, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Congrats on Hambly and the new job in Utah!!
    If you need any tours, advice or a scrapping buddy, let me know! I am just a few minutes from the downtown area and might be as friendly as some of the people you met while visiting ;o)

    B-

  3. aheartfullofjoy June 27, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    I have been reading your blog ALL DAY and I just love it! Geez what do I even begin to comment on…… I love the scarves you wear, your scrapbooking style… your LOVE of magazines (trust me I understand), your excitement and your lists of favorite things. There are so many more things I could comment on but those are the things that popped into my head. Congradulations on the new job. Hope your move goes smoothly. I am new to the blog world but you are welcome to check out my ho hum blog at:

    http://seaurchinsadventurescontinued.blogspot.com/

    I REALLY like the layout of your blog… so much so that you have inspired me to switch over to wordpress. I signed up for it tonight but I to figure it out before I start posting.

    Jocelyn :0)

  4. Cheryl Rodda July 12, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    Love your site! I see that you are moving to Utah… good luck.. you will learn to love it… I move here a year ago… and am I reading right? You found a job with Hambly? Maybe you can help get it in the Local scrapbook stores here… they look at me like I’m nuts! I’m so use to finding what I want in the OC…

    Good luck
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

