Challenge No. 2!

4 Mar

I woke up extra early today so I could squeeze in everything on my mile long to-do list! First on the list: post my layout from Gen’s non-scrapbook-related-item challenge. And here it is:

For my “non-traditional” supplies, I used a vintage tape measure, a green ticket, a shipping tag, and handmade flowers made from fabric scraps. If you’re anything like me and come across lots of fabric in your stash, a great way to use up the remnants (especially if you’re cutting hundreds of circles out for hair accessories!) is to roll them into little fabric flowers.

These all came from scraps of fabric I had laying around and would have been thrown out otherwise. I can’t remember the first time I learned how to make these rolled fabric flowers, but recently I came across a great video tutorial from Rhonna Farrer here. (Plus, you get to see a little bit of her crafting space which looks amazing!)

Today I am off and running! I had some marathon hair-accessory-making marathons these past couple of nights so that I can drop off a huge box full of new accessories to Local Collection in Glendale. Phew! My finger tips are happy to be removed from the stitching needles and the glue gun, if only for a short while 😉 Hope you all have a wonderful Thursday!

P.S. The Office Baby tonight!

2 Responses to “Challenge No. 2!”

  1. genevieve March 4, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    LOVE it!! Ive been wanting to learn to make those SUPER cute fabric flowers…thanks for the link 🙂

  2. The Style Eater March 4, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    looooove the layout!! i miss our frequent coffee dates. and omg i’m really diggin those fabric flowers. i feel like you could sew them on a neckline of a white tee in like a really cool design and sell them on etsy….i would buy one! how cool would that be?? by the way, i saw on heather albanese’s facebook that you said “crafternoon” and i died laughing for like 10 minutes straight. then i thought to myself: i want to have a crafternoon with you! when are we having some weekend seminars?!??!?

Leave a Reply

